Soundtrax and Net Rendering

Post Reply
Ethanw
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 7:26 pm

Soundtrax and Net Rendering

Post by Ethanw »

I have been unsuccessful in initiating a net render session without multiple licenses of this product installed.

Most plugins don't require the rendernodes to actually require a server or nodelocked auth. if they're only called at render time.

Do you guys have a solution for this?

(I'm obviously not rendering any audio via netrender, but it's becoming a chore to revert from SoundTrax prior to submitting any finished work to our farm.)

Thanks in advance~ 8)
boomer
Site Admin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:03 pm

Post by boomer »

EthanW,

This is surprising, I'll investigate. For clarity, you do have the plugin available to the rendering nodes, just not authorized - right?

In the mean time, a quick work around is to download the demo version and install it on your render nodes - will that work for you?

Thanks,

Matt Kaustinen
Boomer Labs
Ethanw
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 7:26 pm

Post by Ethanw »

I guess I should clarify, this works if we run through the whole installer (including serial) on an individual node, but copying just the plugin itself still throws an error. After speaking with IT I can confirm it isn't 'asking' for auth via our license server for each node.

Running the installer on 30+ nodes is a bit of a headache at this point, and I was hoping you had a simple way to drop this one our nodes without the need of a manual install (registry entry and copying key files?.)

Thanks for the quick response btw!
Animator :: Artist :: Gas Powered Games
boomer
Site Admin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:03 pm

Post by boomer »

Hi Ethan,

OK. In that case, the demo should do the trick. Any luck with that?

Thanks,

Matt Kaustinen
Boomer Labs
Ethanw
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 7:26 pm

Post by Ethanw »

Using the demo version still requires logging in to each render node and using the installer, no?

I'm looking for a file only solution as we have a maxscript that automatically copies missing plugins to each node, but copying SoundTrax.dlc by itself doesn't work.

Can you provide a list of necessary files so I can try that route?
Animator :: Artist :: Gas Powered Games
boomer
Site Admin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:03 pm

Post by boomer »

Ethan,

I sent the file to you via email. Please confirm that it meets your needs.

Matt Kaustinen
Boomer Labs
Ethanw
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 7:26 pm

Post by Ethanw »

Just got it all setup, seems to be working.

Thanks for all the help, Matt. :mrgreen:
Animator :: Artist :: Gas Powered Games
Post Reply